by Sarah Cage
How to Delete Skype Account in 2023 - Almost everyone knows about Skype. It is the most famous method for video calling anyone online. Thus, most people have an account on Skype. But, after the arrival of apps like Whatsapp most people don’t need a Skype account. Hence, they want to delete their old Skype account. Skype provides many functions to its users. You can use it to connect with people who are living in some other part of the world. Most companies use Skype to take online interviews. Thus, most people in the professional world use Skype. You can perform job interviews and conference calls on Skype.
But, it is difficult to delete your Skype account. Skype doesn’t want to lose its user base. Hence, they have made it hard to delete your Skype account. You need technical skills to delete your Skype account. If you are a naive Internet user, then you may find difficulties in deleting your account. You need not install any cleaner apps in your device.
All you have to do is erase your information from the Skype database. After erasing your data from the database, no one can access your account. If you don’t want to use Skype, then you can delete your account. Once you have removed your Skype account, all your information will get deleted from the Skype database. Thus, no one can search your account on Skype.
Skype is one of the oldest communication apps. It is the most effective app for doing video calls. But, recently many communication apps have dominated the market. Mobile messengers like Whatsapp and Facebook messenger are the kings the mobile market. Thus, Skype is losing its user base. Most Skype users are moving to other better platforms. If you have already decided to switch to another platform, then you must delete your account first. After that, you can move to some other platform.
Other communication apps let you delete your account instantly. But, Skype doesn’t have such features. You need to wait for a while before deleting your account. If you don’t want to delete your account, then you can deactivate it. Thus, no one can search for your account on Skype. But, you can reactivate your account whenever you want. If you completely want to move from Skype, then you can delete your account. Skype will take 2 weeks to delete your account information. After that, you can’t reactivate your old account.
Skype is currently managed by Microsoft. Thus, most people connect their Microsoft tools with Skype. Because of this, it is difficult to remove your account. You might think you can delete your account in seconds. But, in reality, wait for at least 2 weeks. You also have to remove all the payment methods from your account. After that, you need to cancel all your Skype subscriptions otherwise you will get charged. Last, you need to disconnect your Microsoft account from Skype account.
If you want to delete your account, then you need to follow many steps. You can easily log out from your account or deactivate your account but it is difficult to delete your account. Thus, many people find difficulty in deleting their Skype account. We have created a step-by-step guide for those people. We will also tell you to have to de-link your other accounts from your Skype account. It is important to de-link all the merchant accounts from your Skype account.
Remove all your personal information before deleting your account. First, login into your Skype account. After that, navigate to your account personal setting. Now, you need to delete all your personal information. Start from deleting your phone number, area, and name from your account. Once you have deleted all the personal information, you can delete or deactivate your account. If you have deleted all the information, then no one can look your information on Skype. Thus, you need not worry about your account privacy. If you want to increase the security of your account, then you can use a different email id with Skype. Don’t use your personal email id on Skype. If you are using an unknown account, then no one can find your account.
If you want to delete your account completely, then you can follow below steps. But before deleting your Skype account, you must remove all the Microsoft apps. Most people connect all their Microsoft apps with their Skype account. If you have connected any other merchants with Skype, then you need to remove them. Also, take a backup of your contacts list. If you have already connected your contact list with any other app, then you can skip this step.
After removing your Skype account from Microsoft apps, you can delete your account. Follow the below steps if you want to delete your account.
First, you need to delete all the personal information from your Skype account. Thus, after deleting your account no one can find it. Follow the below steps to remove personal information from Skype.
1. First login into your Skype account using your password and username.
2. After logging in, click on the “Manage” option. Your account page will get loaded.
3. Now, navigate to the end of the page. You will find a Personal Information section.
4. Click on the “Edit” option.
5. Remove all your private information from the Skype account.
After removing your personal information from Skype account, you need to remove your account image. Follow the below steps to change your Skype profile picture.
It is important to remove your Skype account image before deleting your account. Otherwise, anyone can see your profile image. Follow the below steps to change your Skype profile picture.
1. First, login into your Skype Web Chat using your password and username. Notice the only way to change your avatar is through a Skype chat program: online web app, desktop, mobile, or tablet app. You can Not change your profile avatar picture on the online account management. While you can delete all your details, there is no such function to remove or change your profile picture through the account management dashboard.
2. Click on your ID on the top left corner
3. Click on the middle of the Avatar.
4. Now, choose a new photo from your storage for your account. Your old picture will automatically get deleted.
Once you have removed your profile picture, you can finally delete your account.
Follow the below steps if you want to delete your Skype account.
1. First, login into your Skype account using your password and username.
2. Now, click on the Delete your Skype account option.
3. You will see a dialog box, click on the Run option.
4. After that, type this “%appdata%\Skype” command and click on the “OK” button.
5. Now, you need to delete the folder which has your Skype account name.
6. After that, you need to erase your name from the Skype database or directory.
7. Once you have deleted everything, restart your computer.
As we have already told before, people have moved to other Skype-like platforms. Thus, they are looking for how to delete their Skype account. It is very difficult to delete your Skype account. Follow a very complicated process. But, you can easily delete your account after following above steps. We have quite simplified the process. You can follow it with no technical knowledge. After deleting your account, you can never access it. Thus, take a backup of your Skype accounts. If you want to use your Skype account in the future, then don’t delete your account. Instead of deleting you can deactivate your account. But, if you have already decided to delete your account, then you can follow the above method. After deleting your Skype account from Skype database, no one can see it. Hence, no one will get your personal details. Also, remove your profile picture before removing your Skype account. Otherwise, other users can easily access it.
About Sarah Cage
Sarah Cage is an accomplished education writer known for her insightful and engaging work in the field. With a passion for empowering students and teachers alike, she has made a significant impact through her thought-provoking articles and research papers.